Howto: Meteor M2 weather satellite image decoding

TL;DR: Got Meteor M2 Weather satellite decoding. Here are the steps:

Intro
I am new to Satnogs, and had just bought a Raspberry Pi 4 and a RTL-SDR dongle with the dipole antenna kit. I received some NOAA satellites, and was wondering why the Meteor M2 (40069) did not work. Looking at another station that uploaded beautiful pictures, I soon realized that my waterfall was to narrow. Searching this forum I found a lot of information (https://community.libre.space/t/meteor-mn2-decoder-for-rpi-3b/ and https://community.libre.space/t/demodulate-lrpt-from-satnogs-iq-file/6167), but it seemed a bit out dated, and it was not a straight forward manual. I was also a bit surprised that Meteor M2 was not supported out of the box. I decided to give it a try and also document the steps. The fun part in doing so, is that I learned a lot!

Step 1: Install LRPT
The Meteor is using LRPT modulation, which needs to be added. Installing LRPT, requires cmake to be available on the Raspberry Pi. It can be installed with:

sudo apt-get install cmake

Next is somewhat based upon the README.md of Files Ā· lrpt Ā· Mat Burnham / satnogs-flowgraphs Ā· GitLab. Clone the repository and switch to the LRPT branch and compile the source:

cd ~
git clone https://gitlab.com/matb/satnogs-flowgraphs.git
cd satnogs-flowgraphs
git checkout lrpt
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make

Here I made a small mistake. After make, I issued the make install, but I probably shouldnā€™t. Because it overwrites a couple of files, containing the other demodulators. I did not want that, but I realized it too late. Do NOT issue: sudo make install as this will install everything. See:

[  7%] Built target sstv_pd120_demod
[ 15%] Built target iq_receiver
[ 23%] Built target bpsk
[ 30%] Built target cw_decoder
[ 38%] Built target example_flowgraph
[ 46%] Built target fm
[ 53%] Built target afsk1200_ax25
[ 61%] Built target fsk
[ 69%] Built target argos_bpsk_ldr