TP-Link testing

Hi, I’m Jasper and I’m a student

I’m trying to control a Yeasu G5500 rotor using the TP-link (and some
additional hardware)

I configured the TP-link using the steps on your Site:

-So I flashed openWrt in it,
-installed the hamlib and rtl-sdr packages,
-I secure copied the satnogs.sh script and rebooted the router.

Now if I get this right, I should be able to get some data out of the USB port
of the TP-link?

But I’m not quite sure how I can do this, is there a way to verify if I
correctly configured the TP-link?

And what commands do I need to send to recieve data over the USB port?

Is there anyone who can help me?

Kind regards

Jasper

Hey Jasper!

Can you describe your connections between Yaesu G5500 and the router? Are you using a custom made rotor controller? or the Yaesu ‘computer-control’ one?

The process of setting up OpenWRT seems correct :smile:

Also, welcome! :rocket:

Thank you for the fast response

We are going to custom make one, but before we do so I want to be sure I’m able to get the control data from the tp-link.
So now I have connected a USB to Serial device at the tp-link and i’m trying to get data out of it. Without any luck.

I’m trying the following:
-Open putty, going to the ip-adress of the router.
-Logging on
-typing rotctld P10.00 10.00 (hoping to set a certain position this way)
this doesn’t seem to be a valid command, where am I going wrong?

Kind Regards
Jasper

On your USB side you are expecting to get commands on EasyComm 2 protocol. You can check here our Arduino code for the “accepting” side.

Now on how you get rotctld up and running. You need to call it and bind it on a USB (serial port), you can check here or in our satnogs.sh script on how to call it (using model and USB port)

Then once it is up and running on a port you can telnet on it (4533 by default) and issue rotctrl commands. Only then you will see easycomm 2 commands send through the USB side :smile: