Request to add KAFASAT to SatNOGS DB

Hey all,

I am an engineer on the KAFASAT(Korea Air Force Academy Satellite) production team. I would like to register a decoder with SatNOGS.
This is my first time creating a ksy parser, so please let me know how to register it.

Thanks!
Moonsik Song

2 Likes

Hey,

Not sure if you have seen it, there is the satnogs-decoders repository. In the README file there are some details on how to start.

For the ksy file, I think the best way to get help is to share the details on how a frame from KAFASAT can be decoded. This will make easier to people, like @DL4PD or @deckbsd, to give you some hints.

When the ksy file is ready and tested and you have also made the rest of the necessary changes you can create a merge request that will be reviewed and added into the satnogs-decoders project. If you are not familiar with git, merge requests etc we can give you some help (or you can find several tutorials online).

Once the decoder is merged, then we connect it with the satellite in DB and decoding can be started.

The decoded data then are available in dashboard.satnogs.org for creating a dashboard. To create a dashboard you will need to have the necessary permissions, to get them, please login at least once in the site and then let us know in order to give you the permissions.

PS For quicker and more direct communication feel free to join our #satnogs matrix room, find more details on how to join in Get In Touch - SatNOGS Wiki

2 Likes

Hello @moonsik

@fredy told you everything already, i’m just adding that also a great ressource that can be used to develope the kaitai structure is the online web IDE here : https://ide.kaitai.io/ . It helps for having a quick result while developing.

And also like Fredy said, feel free to hop in the SatNOGS matrix room :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello,
@moonsik I am Mikaël, I am the postdoc from KAIST’s ASCL lab.
I believe we meet a few weeks ago.