Hello! Introduction and question

Good morning all. I wanted to introduce myself to the group and say “thank you” in advance for all of the sage advice you have for me as I get my station running. I’m Darrell, W4CX in Raleigh, NC. I’ve been playing around with hamsats for a few years and am now re-configuring my station as a SatNOGS GS.

Is this the place to post “newbie” questions? I hope so. I have alot! Looking forward to knowing the group and getting my station (GS 308) on the air. 73, Darrell W4CX …

2 Likes

Ask away Darrell. You can ask here or if you need immediate answers then IRC / Matrix might suit as there’s always a few people about.

Alex

1 Like

Welcome, @windsaloft!!

Looks like you’re on the air! A couple of observations about your station (pun intended):

1 - you have a VHF antenna listed but some UHF observations scheduled… did you just recently remove a UHF antenna from your profile (if not I wonder if we have a bug allowing you to schedule UHF when we shouldn’t).

2 - I see consistent “bulging” in your doppler shift. This is typically due to a difference in the configured Lat/Long/Alt on a ground station and its actual location - you might check for a problem in your config - and then a strong signal like this should show up straightly corrected.

Cheers!
-Corey KB9JHU

Hi Corey…apologies for my tardy reply. yes, I removed the 432 antenna until I get DC to the mast preamp. I decided to run copper to it instead of thru the coax. Things should be fine once I get it, and will re-activate UHF. I may have fixed the bulging problem. If you find more on my observation, please let me know. Greatly appreciated.
Darrell (windsaloft)

1 Like

Looking good! (and FYI the FOX DUV observations should produce data packets with an upcoming client update, in another week or so)