Firmware issues. We are halfway working! But in need of help

I am a newbie and have managed, somehow, to get to some of the final steps of making the rotator. I have been working on getting the firmware up and running. I struggled through these steps and did not get them all to work perfectly. I used a buspirate and FTDI. I got to the point of uploading the code with the FTDI.

I did have success using the arduino IDE. Would only upload with “Arduino Pro Mini” selected as the board:thinking:. Code does not upload when the SatNOGS board is selected. I have added some Serial.print lines to try and help debug. When the arduino is disconnected things work fine. The serial monitor is showing my print commands when 19200 is selected. As soon as the board is connected to the PCB the serial monitor is scrambled at all baud rates. However the homing sequence does start for the motor 2. When the homing switches are disconnected the serial monitor acts differently and is slightly less scrambled.

I have the PCB soldered for UART and full steps (nothing on R4/7 or JP1-6). I am using stepper motors and mechanical homing switches. I have tested the motor pins with an oscilloscope and am getting square waves at 12v.
Other notes that might be relevant. During the homing sequence the rotator is going in what I would think to be the wrong direction. It binds the homing switch that I have installed in the same way described. Motor wires have been connected as seen here.
Stepper motor drivers seem to be creating significant heat. The controls on these have been tested as well.
“Pre-Fight Check” of voltages came back fine. With arduino connected VCC was checked on the board to be 5V.

Hope this is enough information!

1 Like

Hey! Have you burn to Arduino pro micro the optiboot bootloader? Is it the correct board,
Arduino pro-mini 5V - 16MHz clock? Also, do you have the results of the commands as
referred in troubleshooting in wiki.