Consistent failure of GS for particular satellites

Hello everyone,

I have a young ground station (#930) and I’ve noticed something unusual with it. I get very consistent failures (no waterfall/audio is uploaded) when I am observing JY1Sat, LUSAT or NAYIF-1 . But I usually get almost all the other observations that are scheduled.

Here are all of my recent failed observations: https://network.satnogs.org/observations/?future=0&good=0&bad=0&unvetted=0&norad=&observer=&station=930&start=&end=

Do you have any ideas what could cause this?

Thanks.

I’m no expert but simple logic would indicate these 3 satellites may not be transmitting. Go to AMSAT and do some research on the health of those satellites. Start with their Status page. NAYIF-1 usually puts out a good BPSK signal and there is a dashboard available to decode the data.
Bob

Hi Bob,

Thanks for the reply, but actually, I mean that the ground station fails to perform the recording, not that it does a recording and nothing is seen transmitting.
It’s almost like something about those few satellites causes an error of some sort that prevents the ground station from finishing the recording. I suppose I need to get more troubleshooting info from the RPi… but I’m not at home to check in on it.

Failed satellite is BPSK, check if /usr/bin/satnogs_bpsk_demod.py, /usr/bin/satnogs_bpsk_decoder.py and /usr/bin/satnogs_bpsk_ax25.py are present.

2 Likes

Hi,

When I have this problem, I test separately the two large components (satnogs-client and gr-satnogs) by launching the gr-satnogs scripts by hand. For example, I launch the following gr-satnogs script:

/usr/bin/python2 /usr/local/bin/satnogs_bpsk_demod.py --rx-sdr-device=rtlsdr --rx-freq=145937000 --file-path=receiving_satnogs.out --waterfall-file-path=receiving_waterfall.dat --rf-gain=48 --decoded-data-file-path=data

(all arguments have to be adapted to your situation)