When to Delete an Observation?

Hi,

I am still new to SatNOGS but I am starting to be comfortable scheduling and reviewing observations.

I have a question that I would like to get community guidance on relating to deleting observations. The question is: when should I delete an observation?

There are three possible cases I have come across so far where deleting might be considered. They are:

1. Accidental scheduling of an observation. Since there is no “Undo” functionality, this is the only way, I think to cancel it. I’ve accidentally scheduled a bunch of observations before when I set too wide a time interval then hit the Schedule button. Perhaps a warning such as “Do you really want to schedule 982 observations?” could be useful in this situation :slight_smile:

2. Incorrect Vetting of an observation. I recently incorrectly vetted an observation as “Good” when it is clearly “Bad”. https://network.satnogs.org/observations/181671/ In fact, we don’t yet have any valid observations for this sat, so it is quite misleading. Is deleting this observation the right thing to do to get rid of this incorrect vetting?

EDIT: I crafted this URL and managed to undo the vetting: https://network.satnogs.org/observation_vet/181671/unknown
So maybe this is a way to solve this problem.

1. An observation that didn’t work. This could be vetted as “Bad” or “Failed”. I suspect that these observations should not be deleted, as it provides useful information either about the satellite or the ground station.

What do others think? Are there other cases I’m not thinking of?

Alan

1 Like

Hey Alan,

I wouldn’t want to encourage deletion over correction for vetting. We do need to work vetting correction into the UI, and have an issue filed for this: https://gitlab.com/librespacefoundation/satnogs/satnogs-network/issues/414