Using satnogs groundstation for APRS satgate

I was about to order another RPi to build a Sgate for APRS which would have needed yet another QFH antenna. I already have a working ground-station for receiving VHF satellites so why duplicate the hardware?

Has anyone successfully modified a SatNOGS ground station to do double duty by also acting as a APRS Satgate by decoding and sending APRS packets to aunz.aprs2.net via direwolf.

I read somewhere that audio could be taken from the fm_demod.grc flowgraph and fed to direwolf via a Float to short block and a UDP sink. https://gist.github.com/darksidelemm/… Thanks Mark.

I have spent days googling but found nothing with clear enough instructions for me to follow. I’m not a programmer. I usually come unstuck by not getting the path right, for instance I couldn’t find fm_demod.grc but I did find /usr/local/bin/satnogs_fm_demod.py. I know GRC can use this file but I don’t know how to get it out of the RPi SD card and into my Linux PC so I can use it to edit the flowgraph.

I have played with building flow graphs on GRC but I don’t want to risk stuffing up my working ID-568 ground station so I would need step by step instructions.

Thanks for your time and expertise.

Bob vk2byf

You can also specify an optional “UDP:” port for Direwolf audio device input (like ADEVICE UDP:7355 default ) and additional UDP sink port in AFSK1200 flowgraph.udp

I would probably suggest not modifying the FM demod flowgraph, and instead using a RF splitter and another RTLSDR to do AFSK reception.

It’s fairly trivial to use rtl_fm and direwolf to do the APRS reception. The direwolf user manuals include such an example.
It doesn’t use a whole of CPU, and it doesn’t tie up a SatNOGS ground-station that could be otherwise used for possibly more important telemetry gathering. Plus you’re also not having to patch satnogs-flowgraphs every time there’s an update.