Sound art installation made using my SatNOGS ground station

Hello everyone, I hope this is an okay place to post about this. I wanted to let you all know about a recent sound art project of mine that used data that I collected using my SatNOGS ground stations (124 and 195 on dev). In my daily life I’m an assistant professor of cinema and media studies at a small liberal arts college in Massachusetts, USA. As part of my research I both write books/articles as well as make new media art. I’ve recently been doing a lot of work about radio, satellites, and extraterrestrial entities. I had wanted to build a SatNOGS ground station for a long time and finally got around to doing it last fall, once I figured out which antennas to use for a no-rotator setup. (All of my antennas have to be installed inside right now, as I don’t have any land/balcony to install them on.)

Now to the project. The piece is called “they transmitted continuously / but our times rarely aligned / and their signals dissipated in the æther” (2018). Here’s more information about it from my website: