RF shileding and Interference from steppers

While testing our existing v2 tracking box, we did a simple test of adding and removing ferrite beads on the stepper motor cables.

The results were astounding. Almost 20dB difference in noise level (measuring with a simple antenna and HackRF just outside the box) at 144Mhz.

Interestingly on 437Mhz the interference is almost not existing. Any tips for shielding our current v2 setup? Any tips on selecting ferrite cores/beads and placing? We should also probably do some testing on other bands and using different steppers (although I doubt this would change anything).

1 Like

I would assume that a strong part of emitting comes from the driver and the wires towards the motor too. The motor itself is already contained inside a metal box and what we see is the hf ringing every step. I think the v1 electronics board and bare wire can act very much as an antenna.

I am no expert in HF shielding, but try braiding the motor wires. This can already help at least a litttle bit for free.

One step up would be to use shielded cables of course or try a hack with some grounded aluminium foil and tape for isolation.

After that, it’s metal caging of the electronics (e.g. metal candy box) as well as supply rail decoupling. I successfully managed to decouple noise on a supply rail generated by a cooling fan in an audio circuit with a double LC lowpass filter (the Ls being a ferrite core from an old PC motherboard and one from a cordfree PC mouse RF transmitter, although the latter wouldn’t withstand the steppers power demand). Another option are filters used for motor noise decoupling in the RC FPV community. They either use LC filters or DC-DC transducers, both available from places like hobbyking.

1 Like

Hi Pierros,

I am not an expert, but here I have some links concerning to ferrite beads, which helped to me for avoiding the noise on my RF circuits: link1 and link2.