Pre-Observation Script to run rtl_biast?

I have an FM Trap and LNA installed at my antenna and am using a RTL-SDR V3 dongle. I can enable the bias-t in Windows on other software and it works fine and I can see the increased gain from the LNA. So the hardware works.

In SatNogs on my Raspberry Pi B3+ I want to enable the bias-t on the V3 dongle using the rtl_biast program which is done via the following command: /home/pi/rtl_biast/build/src/rtl_biast -b 1

I am assuming this should be done via the pre-observation script - is that the best approach? If so, what is the correct syntax to execute that command?

If not via the pre-observation script, what would be the suggested method to do this? I am a Linux noob so go easy on me. :slight_smile:

Hey Brad,

I recently ran into this problem also. I think the pre-observation script is the best way, although I’m new here also so someone with more experience might have a better suggestion.

Run sudo satnogs-setup, then Advanced, then SATNOGS_PRE_OBSERVATION_SCRIPT:

Don’t forget to Apply the change on the main screen after you’re done. You can double check that everything is set up properly by checking /etc/default/satnogs-client after you’re done.

Have a great weekend!

Bryan

4 Likes

Thanks Bryan,

I figured there would be more to it. I implemented that last night but gain is low on everything received so far using same settings (7.7 dB gain) that I tested to be optimal on a windows program. I have had this issue before with SatNogs client where adjusting the gain values seems to result in very weak signals despite what the gain is set to. I have to do a complete reset of the SatNogs client to get it working right again.

Using a multimeter, I did confirm that the 4.5 VDC activates when the script runs at the beginning of a pass.

Testing on a nice overhead AO-73 pass right now.

The AO-783 pass completed. and is here (not that strong):
https://network.satnogs.org/observations/257810/

Will adjust gain and try again.