Please Help With The Process Of Integrating A New Satellite

Hello SatNOGS Community!

Apologies in advance if this exact topic has already been posted. I also apologize because I am fairly new to Linux and radio communications. Lastly, this is a long one. To summarize, I am so sorry…

My university is currently working on our first Earth-orbiting satellite, and I am heading the project (actually, I am the only one working on it right now…) I have included current info on our satellite radio at the bottom. Please let me know if you need more.

I came across SatNOGS by chance when figuring out how we will receive data from our satellite and thought your system would be perfect for us. We are on an ultra-low budget and already planning on transmitting on amateur frequency (we have a general-class license, and I have used APRS in the past for weather balloon experiments). However, I seem to be lost in the process of how to implement our satellite as I have no experience in radio modulation/demodulation or encoding/decoding. I found the topic by @killic1 here: SatNOGS Satellite Model Testing. I, unfortunately, am not as well versed as @killick1 and still do not understand the process of creating a custom flowgraph (if I need to) and demodulator, testing theses offline, then implementing them into the network. I am a humble newbie whose degree is in physics and not engineering or CS.

I’ve read the “Satellite Operator Guide” wiki here: Satellite Operator Guide - SatNOGS Wiki. To keep my questions organized, I will ask them in step order under 2.2 – “Add a new mission”:

1. No question here. I just need to figure out what we’re calling our orbiting friend.
  2. Here’s potentially the dumbest question of mine. What’s the best way to figure out what flowgraph will work or if I need to make my own?