Observation 651895: NOAA 15 (25338)

Hey folks, I’m new to all this and I’ve just “logged” Observation 651895

For some reason, it came up as “good” after the scan, but there’s clearly no trace of a satellite anywhere in the recordings/waterfall/data image, so I’ve changed that to “bad”.

I’m pretty confident this was the right thing to do, but that’s mainly because the antenna I’ve got connected to the RTLSDR on the ground station is a rubber duck designed as a 1/4 wave for 868MHz (I’m going to be building a “proper” antenna soon, this was just so that there was “something” on the SDR to avoid any damage to the circuit!).

Did I do the right thing?

I think this is one of the rare occasions where “failed” is the correct vetting. That waterfall is one solid color, something is not right.

Cool, thanks, I’ll mark it as such, I suspect it’s because of the antenna, at least the base station is reporting correctly to the platform.

I have had this happen in the past on my station when the RTLSDR is in error. I suggest unplugging and plunging it back in.

When the antenna is the problem you at least have random noise on the waterfall which is not the case here (-> see “one solid color” above).

ok, thanks both.

Is there a “satnogs approved” script that I might be able to use to test if the SDR is working?

Ah, I did a quick search, found rtl_test, ran it, and it says “device not found”, so I’ll check that and try again.

2 Likes

The pi is dead.

The logs are full of

[15247.713546] usb 1-1-port2: over-current change

and changing the power adaptor has made absolutely no difference whatsoever.

New Pi ordered, should be here tomorrow, then we’ll try again!

was that with the RTL disconnected? If not, did you try switching ports?