Observation 4084669: FOX-1E (47311)

Regarding Observation 4084669

Hi all,

I see this observation of Fox-1E marked as good and I see what looks like a candidate signal in the waterfall. When I play the audio back I can’t hear anything. I seem to remember that the audio has a 12kHz IF. Is that just in the downloaded files or also when you play the audio on the website?

Either way, I candidate signal for Fox-1E is very interesting. We have not had any confirmation that the telemetry subsystem is alive. I am not an expert at querying the observations. I tried to search for other Fox-1E observations with a signal but could not find any.

Chris
AC2CZ / G0KLA

The audio played on the website is the same as what is downloaded, so the signal will be at a 12 kHz IF.

As there is no automatic demodulation of signals from FOX-1E, observations will not be auto-vetted, and so have to be vetted manually. As a result, there are a lot of un-vetted observations. I also note a big gap in observations between may and july, presumably because the sat was considered to be dead.

I’ve scheduled a few observations on my station and the ITR station (one of the biggest in the network) and we’ll see what we get…

Mark VK5QI

Here’s a fairly high elevation observation from the ‘big’ station in Adelaide: SatNOGS Network - Observation 4453728

Interesting sidebands on the BPSK signal!

2 Likes

Thanks Mark. And thanks for the recent observation. The observations from 488-W7KKE were from May and correspond almost exactly with the testing we were doing, which included turning up the modulator gain. So we are going to command the modulator to have higher gain again. I’ll confirm when that has happened. We are just getting a command station lined up.

Chris
AC2CZ / G0KLA

There is very weak telemetry in these observations but I think the best is from the observation that Mark pointed out. If anyone can see observations with a stronger signal then let me know.