Observation 1037954: Raw data Needed

Regarding Observation 1037954
Hi
I am doing my PhD at UniSA. Can you please share your recorded raw data? I want to process it to extract Doppler curves.

Hi,

The raw IQ data for this pass is available here: https://satnogs-iq.s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/1037954.raw This is in signed 16-bit format, 48000 Hz sample rate.

HOWEVER - SatNOGS performs doppler correction as part of the demodulation chain, and the IQ recording is after this doppler correction step. As a result, you can see that the target signal from LightSail-2 appears as a vertical line in the waterfall, while other local interferers appear to shift in frequency throughout the pass. I’m not sure you’ll be able to do whatever you are after from this recording.

What information are you after in particular? As you can probably guess from my station location, I am based in Adelaide, and I have fairly regular dealings with the likes of Bill Cowley, Ady James, and others in ITR.

Cheers,
Mark VK5QI

1 Like

Hi,
Yes, I am at ITR too (joined in March and working with Dr.Gottfried). I am looking for raw data without any correction. I simply want to see Doppler vs time for the recorded signal for same satellite over multiple passes. I thought you record data before applying the correction.
As you mentioned, Doppler compensation is already done but in the waterfall I am still looking some signals which are not compensated for Doppler. Can you please tell a bit about those signals?

You’re wrong! They are doppler corrected but are of terrestrial source. That means they are static in their frequency, as they are not moving relative to the observer, and do not underly doppler shifts. That’s why a straight line for a satellite signal results in curved lines for terrestrial signals.

1 Like

Ok Thanks, I got it. It means I need to have my own setup running to record raw data (before correction) and I can’t find here on SatNOGS.