Noob Q on Antennas

I’m a total noob, wanting to do Satnogs for my high school science club on the Satnogs Network. We are located in Hawaii.

I have some questions:

I was looking at the omnidirectional and rotator build plans. The omnidirectional (non-rotator) uses a single antenna of various types, as mentioned here. The rotator build seems to use two antennas, as seen here.

I thought our team should start with the easier omnidirectional build with a single antenna, but I was thinking that as we progressed, we could move up to the rotator.

Can an omnidirectional also use dual-antennas, or does an omni need a single type of antenna?

Can an omnidirectional pick up signals from both LEO and GEO (such as NOAA satellites)?

Can an omnidirectional operate indoors, given the length of radio waves, or is a roof ideal?

Oh, one more thing, I know it’s not hardware, but it seems to me Linux is preferred to Raspberry Pi. True?

Please answer in the simplest words possible. Mahalo!

3 Likes

I’ve just got my station running using a simple horizontal V dipole antenna made from thick wire left over from training fruit trees and it works surprisingly well.

Also, yes Raspberry Pis mainly use Linux. The SatNOGS image is based on the standard Raspbian distro from the Raspberry Pi foundation.

4 Likes

The antenna can be installed indoors as well and still have good reception characteristics. My Wimo TA-1 (VHF) is under the roof, there are no metal parts interfering the reception. This way, no permission from the rest of the people living in the building was needed for the installation. That meant, no problem with insurance against lightning (for example). Also, some other hardware like low noise amplifier and FM filter, are protected from weather.

Omnidirectional antennas still have a preferred frequency range to receive the data. To receive the low resolution NOAA images, you need a VHF antenna, better when tuned for 137 MHz.

1 Like