No support for Imperial sized parts?

Greetings! This is my first post.

I’m a student at a university in south florida, USA. For my senior project my team and I are building a communication system for a cubeSAT. After some googling I found the SatNOGS Rotator and decided this would be cost effective and fun to build!

Thus, I began reading through the instructions and BOM. Unfortunately, a lot of the parts required for the rotator are not sold near me. Also, the distributors linked in the BOM spreadsheet are half way around the world and the huge shipping costs are causing frustration to say the least.

Has anyone built the rotator here in the U.S.? Which version did you use? How much did it cost? What modifications did you make? Is there a guide for this?

Thank you all very kindly.

1 Like

Ah, the old metric / imperial problem. I’m sure there are a few that have been built in the US. Corey might be the best person to talk to (he has put his in the gallery here). I imagine that a few tweaks could solve the issue rather than a redesign. Price should be roughly the same regardless. It all depends on what you can lay your hands one.

Generally the V3 is the one to go for. But also don’t discount a no rotator setup if you have a pass friendly location there is a bit more info here. Great for getting to know the way SatNOGS schedules. There may also be other ground stations that you could make use of to supplement your own rather than having to rely on a single ground station. After all thats one of the cool things about SatNOGS.

Alex

2 Likes

v3.0-32mm has a folder with the appropriate imperial sized parts for imperial PVC:

https://github.com/satnogs/satnogs-rotator/releases/download/v3.0/v3.0-32mm.zip

See this post as well: US v3 part sources

cheers!

2 Likes

First of all, thank you both for your timely responses.