No feedback on RS-485 communication?

Guys,

Looking at the schematic, again, the RS-485 to TTL converter chip (U2) is only half duplex and the transmit side is hardwired off? By doing this you get no feedback to Gpredict as to where the rotor actually is.

What was the thinking on doing that? Why not use full duplex like a regular rotor (i.e. meters showing you where you are)?

Hey, half duplex means that RX and TX use the same bus (pair of wires A,B), that is the reason of pins RE/DE that controlled by RTS in PCB. The default state is receive mode, RTS is LOW. When the controller receives a packet that need feedback, the state of the controller changes to transmit, RTS is HIGH.

OK, after looking at the schematic I do see where the device enable lines are being controlled (I’ve been using Eagle for 20 years, and switched to kicad about a year ago…still learning the differences…

Looking at the rotor_pins.h file, I see the RS-485 direction, with a 2 next to it. Does that mean IO pin 2? If so then that doesn’t match the schematic…

Comments?

Pin 2 is IO pin. Why that doesn’t match with the schematic?

• But from the rotator_pins.h I have:

• /*

• rotator_features.h
    • Created on: Nov 12, 2017
    •  Author: azisi

• */

• #ifndef ROTATOR_PINS_H_

• #define ROTATOR_PINS_H_

• #define M1IN1 6

• #define M1IN2 5

• #define M1SF 7

• #define M1FB A1

• #define M2IN1 11

• #define M2IN2 3

• #define M2SF 10

• #define M2FB A0

• #define MOTOR_EN 8

• #define SW1 9

• #define SW2 4

• #define RS485_DIR 2

• #define SDA_PIN 3

• #define SCL_PIN 4

• #define PIN12 12

• #define PIN13 13

• #define A2 A2

• #define A3 A3

• #endif /* ROTATOR_PINS_H_ */

• So, if I am reading this right, the M1IN1 is Pin 6, M1IN2 is pin 5, but the schematic has pin 6 as M2IN2 and pin 5 is RTS but the header file has it as M1IN2.

• And these pins do NOT match up with the schematic (as well as more of the pins). So either the software doesn’t match the schematic or vice versa.