Is a tracker necessary?

Dear everyone:
Is a tracker necessary?
After reading this article, I wonder is it necessary to build a tracker?
Does an omnidirectional antenna work well?
(http://www.amsat.org/xtra/Getting%20Started%203.pdf)
I am a beginner, and are there something interesting from satellite I can receive?
(http://www.amsat.org/?page_id=1869)
It seems that only simple “hello” message can be sent using satellite.
Today, if internet can communicate well, why do you still interesting in this?
This project is only an adult toy, or actually useful?

As far as I understand yes and no. Let me elaborate on that as far as I understand it. I guess that since I am no ham radio amateur I may get some stuff wrong here so please any hams out there feel free to correct me.

Omnidirectional antennas (like Eggbeaters) are nice and can be used as an alternative in certain scenarios but there are some limitations, one of the most significant is that you the target satellite signal must be almost over head to receive something useful. Using a Yagi-Uda (or a helix) combined with a tracker can change that allowing a single ground station to cover a much bigger area (this is also affected by the tracked satellites orbital characteristics too).

On interesting stuff for you to receive, well first and foremost many satellites that transmit telemetry data via amateur radio bands. This is important for satellite operators that want to be sure about the status of their satellites in orbit.Some weather satellites provide image data and there are several software packages able to decode such transmissions providing real-time weather imagery. And other data collected for various fields of science.