IARU Amateur Satellite Coordination Process

Hi everyone, I’m an Electrical Engineering student and am part of my universities spacecraft club. We’ve been given the opportunity to operate an amateur radio payload on board an upcoming cubesat mission. I’ve been tasked with completing the IARU amateur satellite coordination process. I’m hoping to get some advice and direction from any of you who have gone through this process. Here are some of the questions I have after going through the IARU coordination request form:

• Sections 5.14, 7.3, and 8.1 ask for specific frequencies that we want to use. The transceiver on our satellite can operate anywhere in the 70 centimeter band. How do we pick a specific frequency to use? Can we just ask the IARU to assign us a good frequency?

• Section 7.1 is asking for a telecommand station call sign. Should we apply for a club call sign, or can an individual member of our club use their own amateur call sign?

• Our transmissions will be modulated with FSK, and our transmitter is capable of 10kb/s. What data rate would be best for the SatNOGS network? 9600 baud?

• Section 9.8 asks for a list of other amateur satellites that will be sharing the same launch. Our satellite is going to be launched on the SpaceX Transporter-10 rideshare mission. Is their a publicly accessible list of other amateur missions on that launch?

Thank you all very much for your help. We’re excited to be a part of the amateur radio satellite community.

3 Likes

Hello and welcome, @rsawyer. I have not been through the IARU process (yet) but these are my observations/opinions on it.