CW signal anomalies

Hi all!

I’m trying to debug CW decoder using one of the observation: SatNOGS Network - Observation 1292

I’m pretty new to gnu radio and cannot understand why signal dropped periodically. See red marks on the screenshot. I’ve noticed same slopes on several observations. Any thoughts? Could it be due to gpredict slow reaction?

Sounds like that recording was made using FM so I’m not sure it should be used for debugging a CW decoder. CW should be recorded using USB mode :wink:

Anyway, when the signal drops in strength, maybe due to fading, the noise level from the FM demodulator will increase and that is what you see. You can even hear the background noise increase if you listen to it.

What do you mean? This is audio file from network.satnogs.org :slight_smile:
I can manually decode letters from the signal. And they seems to be ok.

I just noticed that Daniel spotted strange jumps in signal. Maybe these drops in strength are due to satellite hardware?

I mean that the audio sounds like noise coming from a frequency demodulator.

CW means continuous wave, which is a single carrier frequency being keyed on and off. You should hear a single tone like in this sample: www.kb9ukd.com/digital/cw20.wav

What you hear instead is changes in the noise profile. Surely you can decode it because you can detect the differences between on and off, but it is not the right way to do it. It was recorded using the wrong receiver.

Got it. Can I revert (at least partially) fm demodulation? It must be coming from gr-satnogs. But I cannot find from :frowning:

I suppose you could remodulate it using FM, then demodulate it using SSB receiver, theoretically… It might be easier to make a new recording using the correct receiver, if such a receiver is available in gr-satnogs. I do not know why it is receiving using FM.