CCSDS test vectors?

Hi everyone.

I’m implementing the channel coding for a cubesat. I’m following CCSDS 131.0-B-3 (Blue book, TM Synchronization and channel coding) and have an implementation that I think does everything according to the specification.

But I’d like to verify this. Is there anything similar to test vectors (often used for verifying cryptographic implementations), or some freely available implementation that I can use to encode and decode test data, to verify that my interpretation and implementation of CCSDS is correct?

I would prefer to verify without going to RF (at least initially). Could I use the Satnogs encoding/decoding blocks outside Gnu radio? I have some experience running Gnu radio, but unfortunately no experience in developing blocks.

Based on our link budget requirements, we plan to use convolutional and reed-solomon encoding.

2 Likes

Hello!

We have an implementation of (most of) the CCSD modulation and coding schemes here : https://gitlab.com/librespacefoundation/gr-ccsds . In the months to come we will test it against a hardware CCSDS modem, but for now we also have the same problem of verification with you, so it could be a good chance for both of us to see if we’re on the right track with the implementation!

For a way to run the code without the gnuradio companion take a look at the qa tests, like /lib/qa_conv_decoder.cc which tests the convolutional decoder block. Still you will need the gnuradio libraries though

Cheers

3 Likes

Hi!

The CCSDS decoders in gr-satellites are working and have been tested with real data.
There are decoders for convolutional rate 1/2 and Reed-Solomon that I already successfully used.

Another implementation including de- and encoders is gr-ccsds (not to confuse with the LibreSpace implementation).

Cheers,
Milenko

2 Likes

I tried compiling and running the tests, but I suspect I’m not doing the right thing. Is there any documentation or does anyone have any pointers on how to run the tests?