Can't schedule observations on my own station

I’m still new to this and have a lot to learn.
My station 568 seems to be running OK at the moment however
I sometimes can’t schedule an observation on my own station. I can’t see any reason for this. Overlaps etc.
I note also many other observers on my station which is OK because that is the aim of the network, right?
Is it possible, I can’t schedule my own station because others have scheduled my station for that particular time so I can’t?
It would be nice if I could use my own station during my waking hours. After that the rest of the world can have a play. I don’t think it’s fair for some people to auto schedule a particular satellite many days in advance at the expense of station owners. What are they doing with so much data?
Should I not get priority over my own station? Is there a way around this?

Also, I need to do some antenna work on my station. Do I, can I, notify people before taking it down?
Or do I simply switch to “testing” mode? Or switch it off? If I simply disconnect the antenna wouldn’t that result in a lot of false “failed” vetting?

I need the best part of a day to build a new antenna switching unit in preparation for bringing a UHF station on line.

73 Bob vk2byf

Yes, if somebody has already scheduled an observation, you have no access to that “slot” unless you first go in and delete the other observation.

Simply look at the list of scheduled observations for your station to see if the there is something scheduled in the time slot you want. If yes, click on the observation, hit the little “trash can” symbol (or “rubbish can” for the non-yanks) and then select “OK” in the pop-up. The slot will now be available.

One caveat, is that 95% of the time this happens to me, the observation that is scheduled is already the exact observation that I want - so no need to delete.

2 Likes