Camera is not (?) detected with stvid

Hello everyone,

I am trying to capture some satellite images and utilize stvid repository of cbassa. It was rather complicated here so I followed the steps of @jebba shared in this clone (I tried to reach out @jebba in some other way but I could not, so here I am :melting_face:).

I have a ZWO ASI1600MM Pro camera and I have followed every step and they are all working. The step I am stuck is this:

Basically nothing happens after this point on. I would expect it to see my camera and you know give some info about it before acquisition of images, but it gives me nothing. I am really new to these Linux environments so apologies for trivial questions in advance.

But really, how can I make stvid see my camera?

I would appreciate any help. Thank you so much.

2 Likes

Hi! The software waits until it is dark enough to start filming. You can overrule this by running:
. /acquire.py -l -t 300
The -l will show a live view and the -t will start test mode immediately for 300 seconds.

You may want to join the matrix chat channel dedicated to optical observations. https://app.element.io/#/room/#satnogs-optical:matrix.org

Best regards, Eelke.

3 Likes

Here is the section for configuration.ini which specifies the ASI1600MM Pro settings. This is what I use. As @EelkeVisser explained, the -t option allows you to test operation during daytime, and the -l option will give you a live view. Adjust the path the the ASI camera library in the last line.

[ASI]
device_id = 0
nx = 1552               # Camera horizontal pixel count
ny = 1172               # Camera vertical pixel count
bin = 3                 # Binning factor (1: 1x2, 2: 2x2 etc)
exposure = 100000       # Exposure time in microseconds
nframes = 100           # Number of frames for each image
gain = 300              # Camera gain
maxgain = 300           # Maximum gain (for autogain; starts at gain)
autogain = True         # Use autogain