ARISS Contact - Don Bosco Haacht Technisch en Beroepsonderwijs, Haacht, Belgium, Multi-point telebridge via AB1OC

Don Bosco Haacht Technisch en Beroepsonderwijs, Haacht, Belgium, Multi-point telebridge via AB1OC
The ISS callsign is presently scheduled to be NA1SS
The scheduled astronaut is Chris Cassidy KF5KDR
Contact is go for: Fri 2020-07-10 10:49:51 UTC 27 deg

live stream: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zj6gkCtKAwg

Several stations were able to receive parts of the contact:

Map of the ground track, the above mentioned SatNOGS ground stations and the contact site:

Congratulations and 73 to all!

More details about the contact from ariss.org:

Click here for the details

ARISS News Release No. 20-08
Dave Jordan, AA4KN
ARISS PR

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ARISS Contact is Scheduled for Don Bosco Technisch en Beroepsonderwijs in Haacht, Belgium

July 3, 2020—Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS) has received schedule confirmation for another social-distanced ARISS radio contact with astronauts. ARISS is the group that puts together special amateur radio contacts between students around the globe and astronauts with ham radio licenses on the International Space Station (ISS).

This radio contact will be a Multipoint Telebridge Contact via Amateur Radio, developed for distance learning while worldwide education institutions are closed due to COVID-19. ISS Commander Chris Cassidy, amateur radio call sign KF5KDR, will support the ARISS radio contact.

The ARISS telebridge radio ground station, a ham radio satellite station with special equipment for teleconferencing, will be operated by ARISS team member Fred Kemmerer using his amateur radio call sign AB1OC. He will be social distanced at his home ham radio station in Hollis, NH. Cassidy will be at the ARISS ham radio station on the ISS and each youth will tie in from home. Students take turns asking Cassidy their questions. School staff and the public can watch the livestreamed action from their own homes.

The youth taking part in this ARISS contact are from Don Bosco Haacht Technisch en Beroepsonderwijs in Haacht, Belgium. The radio contact is scheduled for July 10, 2020 at 12:49 CEST (10:49 UTC, 06:49 EDT, 05:49 CDT, 04:49 MDT, 03:49 PDT). Prior to COVID-19, student opportunities for study included telecommunications, electronics, physics, amateur astronomy and other STEM projects, and the local ham radio group set up a school ham club using the call sign ON1DB.

ARISS invites the public to view the livestream of the ARISS radio contact at: https://youtu.be/zj6gkCtKAwg

As time allows, students will ask these questions:

  1. How can you tell time? Does day and night exist in the space station?
  2. What are the difficulties in space in putting clothes on?
  3. Why would you go outside the ISS? How many of you can leave at the same time?
  4. What anthropogenic influences or manmade structures on earth can you observe from space?
  5. Are you allowed to go back to earth immediately in case of a family related emergency?
  6. Is it possible to drink sparkling water on board of the ISS?
  7. What kind of experiments do you do in space and do they sometimes include animals?
  8. Why would the ISS change its course and how fast can it do that?
  9. Have you ever had any problems with oxygen, pressure or fire on board and how can you solve such problems?
  10. What do you do when you have free time?
  11. How did you feel when you took off?
  12. How do the quality and duration of your sleep in the ISS differ from what you are used to on Earth?
  13. Are you continuously being monitored when you are in the ISS?
  14. Do you think extraterrestrial organisms exist?
  15. Is SpaceX changing the way of life in the ISS?
  16. For how long can you stay in the ISS?
  17. Does the air in the ISS feel humid or warm? Has it any odor to it?
  18. What personal belongings do you bring with you to the ISS?
  19. Can you see other satellites orbiting the earth?
  20. What do you do with laundry and trash on board of the ISS?

About ARISS:

Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS) is a cooperative venture of international amateur radio societies and the space agencies that support the International Space Station (ISS), such as the ISS National Lab, NASA’s Space Communications and Navigation program (SCaN), and the European Space Agency (ESA). The primary goal of ARISS is to promote exploration of science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics topics by organizing scheduled contacts via amateur radio between crew members aboard the ISS and students. Before and during these radio contacts, students, educators, parents, and communities learn about space, space technologies, and amateur radio. For more information, see www.ariss.org.

Media Contact:
Dave Jordan, AA4KN
aa4kn@amsat.org

4 Likes