APRS Sat Gateway using excisting SatNOGS Hardware

Apparently there is a global shortage of APRS satellite Gatewys. This would definitely be true here at the bottom of the world in Australia so I thought why don’t I build one using another Raspberry Pi and a RTL-SDR?

Then it occurred to me that I already have all the hardware setup and the means to track and download data from all the APRS satellites and all I need is to get the system to send the captured packets to the IGSERVER aunz.aprs2.net as well as the SatNOGS network.

Sound simple enough but I’m sure Murphy’s Law will have something to say about that. I’m not a programmer, so I’m asking for comments, suggestions and reasons why it can’t be done before I rush out and order another RPi and build yet another 2m QFH antenna.

If it can be done I would have to find out how to auto schedule my VHF station to listen to all the APRS capable satellites and still make my station available to the community for scheduling other satellites.

Imagine at least one similar station in each country feeding satellite APRS packets into the IGSERVER .aprs2.net ? This might keep packet radio alive a little longer, or would it?

Is this the right place to open such a discussion?

73 Bob vk2byf

1 Like

This should be fairly easy to do using the auto scheduler. Create a priorities file for all the APRS satellites and let the auto scheduler run every 6h to schedule observations for the next 12 hours.

Times could be adjusted, but I think it is good to keep a balance between scheduling early (so no-one else schedules observations that will overlap with APRS) and scheduling late (so you use fresh TLEs).

I guess an alternative could be to split the antenna feed to two SDRs (on different RPis).

Here is my other problem. I have been searching the wiki pages to find how to autoshedule but can’t find anything to tell me how to do it. I can schedule for a maximum for 48hours from the Observation page but that’s it