Observation 155385: FOX-1B (43017)

Regarding Observation 155385
There’s a bit of somewhat noisy audio (QSOs) here that are worth listening to. I was not able to recover any telemetry data though.

1 Like

Saw this already on my station and started to discuss this sound (formerly known as “didupp” :D) with @fredy.

See observation in the link below:

1 Like

Also I have found to listen to Fox voice audio a filter to remove the DUV nosie works nicely from audacity

@Dl4PD
I’ve encountered something similar to DUV about 25 years ago…

I worked in the Trunking Radio industry before cellphones existed. The product I worked on was EF Johnson LTR compatible. The (wide-band FM) trunked radio repeaters would send its trunking information in sub-audible format and the radios would filter-out the sub-audible tones for the user and listen to the sub-audible trunking channel for trunking information. When the mobile (elliptical) high-pass filter was not adjusted right, there would be a “bo-bo” noise. When the low-pass data filter was not adjusted right, the result were trunking failures.

With these Fox-series satellites, the sub-audible information is the telemetry, but the issues remain the same.

The low-pass filter for the telemetry needs to be set correctly for the telemetry to decode properly. While running the FoxTelem decoder, I was noticing that the “eye” was not opening up correctly due to dropouts or an incorrect filter. The SNR was good enough, FoxTelem should be decoding on an SNR of ~4 or better. I’m going to run the .wav files through Audacity or Sonic Visualizer later this evening and take a look at what I find. Something is not right.

I’ve definitely seen this before in another life.
–Konrad, WA4OSH

Yes, you only need to add a high-pass filter with f_gmin of 400 Hz :wink:

1 Like