Airspy HF+ Discovery, Raspberry PI, SatNOGS - Need help

Hi together,

I have my SatNOGS running with RPI4 and AirSpy R2 for a month now, so I’m still a newbie here :wink:

I’m very satisfied with the AirSpy R2 performance compared to an ordinary RTL-SDR, but today I wanted to upgrade to an AirSpy HF+ Discovery to further improve VHF performance and also prepare a station for DK0SB at Sternwarte Bochum, which is also the AMSAT-DL HQ.

When I installed the new SDR it was not detected by SoapySDRUtil and I quickly learned that I need to install https://github.com/airspy/airspyhf

However, after following all the instructions and rebooting, “SoapySDRUtil --probe” still doesn’t find it :frowning:

Here I’m stuck now…

Any hints appreciated, Thanks!
73s Peter, DB2OS

Hi Peter,

Do you have the SoapySDR plugin for the Airspy HF+ installed? You can check it with SoapySDRUtil --info it should print a line that looks similar to this:

Available factories... airspy, airspyhf, bladerf, hackrf, lime, plutosdr, redpitaya, remote, rtlsdr, sdrplay

Alex OZ9AEC

Hi Alex,

thank for your reply, this is what I get… obviously airspyhf is missing. I was trying to install the airsphy hf as described above, but did I perhaps miss something?

pi@satnogs:~ $ SoapySDRUtil --info
######################################################

Soapy SDR – the SDR abstraction library

Lib Version: v0.7.1-3
API Version: v0.7.1
ABI Version: v0.7
Install root: /usr
Search path: /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/SoapySDR/modules0.7
Search path: /usr/local/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/SoapySDR/modules0.7 (missing)
Search path: /usr/local/lib/SoapySDR/modules0.7 (missing)
Module found: /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/SoapySDR/modules0.7/libHackRFSupport.so (0.3.3)
Module found: /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/SoapySDR/modules0.7/libLMS7Support.so (20.01.0)
Module found: /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/SoapySDR/modules0.7/libRedPitaya.so (0.1.1)